• MU logo University of Missouri | map | directions | parking
  • Loading
School of Music - University of Missouri
MU Jazz Performance Studies

2015 JAZZ ENSEMBLE AUDITIONS

Interested students may audition for placement in one of two big bands and several combos. Jazz auditions are open to all students, regardless of major.

Schedule:
Monday, August 24 - 4:00-10:00 p.m. – Rhythm Section (Loeb 112)
Tuesday, August 25 - 4:00-10:00 p.m. – Trumpet/Trombone (Loeb 112)
Wednesday, August 26 - 4:00-8:00 p.m. – Saxophone/Vocals (Loeb 112)

Audition Requirements:

Instrumentalists

Drummers

  • Various grooves at a variety of tempos (swing, shuffle, bossa nova, funk, ballad with brushes, etc.)
  • Prepared Reading Etude (downloadable PDF)
  • Sight-reading
  • Soloing

Vocalists

  • Two pieces, memorized (one medium-up tempo swing, 32 bars maximum; one ballad, 16 bars
    maximum)
  • Optional improvisation on tunes selected
  • Provide your own accompaniment

Audition sign-up sheet will be posted at 121 Loeb Hall by August 17. Rosters will be posted by Thursday, August 27 at 10 AM. Adjustments to registration will need to be made immediately after audition results are posted. Rehearsals will begin Friday, August 28 for Big Bands and Monday, August 31 for Combos. Additional questions should be directed to Dr. Arthur White, whitear@missouri.edu.

 

2015-2016 MU JAZZ CONCERT DATES

Tickets may be purchased through EventPros or by calling the Missouri Theatre Box Office at (573)882-3781.

  • Thursday, September 24, 7:30 PM: Jazz Big Bands (MT)
  • Wednesday, October 7, 8:30 PM: Jazz Combos (The Bridge)
  • Thursday, October 29, 7:30 PM: Jazz Combos (The Bridge)
  • Friday, November 6, 7:30 PM: Studio Jazz Band (MT)
  •  Monday, November 9, 7:30 PM: Concert Jazz Band (MT)
  • Saturday, February 13: MU/RBHS Jazz Festival (RBHS) *free admission
  • Thursday, February 18, 7:30 PM: Concert Jazz Band (MT)
  • Thursday, March 10, 7:30 PM: Jazz Combos (The Bridge)
  • Thursday, March 24, 7:30 PM: Studio Jazz Band (MT)
  • Thursday, April 7, 7:30 PM: Jazz Combos (The Bridge)
  • Friday, April 15, 7:30 PM: Jazz Big Bands (MT)

MT = Missouri Theatre located at 203 S. Ninth Street, Columbia, MO.
The Bridge is located at 1020 E. Walnut, Columbia, MO.
RBHS = Rock Bridge High School located at 4303 S. Providence, Columbia, MO.

 

RECENT CD RELEASES

open window

MU Concert Jazz Band releases "Open Window."

'Window' to the future of jazz - Columbia Tribune, 10/5/14

Buy Hidden Agenda Now

Home

MU Concert Jazz Band releases "Home: The Columbia, MO Sessions, Vol. 1."

World of moods finds a 'Home' on MU Jazz CD - Columbia Tribune, 10/6/13

Buy Hidden Agenda Now

MU Jazz Studies Teams with Grammy© Nominated Musician for Third Release

No hiding it: MU jazz band shines on "Agenda" - Columbia Tribune, 10/4/12

Buy Hidden Agenda Now

Vertigo Cover

MU Concert Jazz Band releases
“Tunnel Vision: A Collection of New Music.”

Click here for more information
Click here for the Columbia Tribune’s review
(September 18, 2011)

Vertigo Cover

MU Jazz Studies, Jazz Icon, team up for debut CD
The official PR firm for VERTIGO is DeBlaze and Associates
(www.deblaze.com)

Visit www.mikemainieri.com for more information on one of the great jazz musicians of our time!


 
 
footer